I'm curious as to why the stroke order of
力 is different to the stroke order of
One page I found (
九 stroke order) theorises that the reason is because
力 has "touching" strokes and there is a hook that "points" to the second stroke, so it could not itself be the second stroke.
This seems to be a decent theory, though I'd like to know if anybody has a concrete source proving (or disproving) this rule. It does note that it only applies for cases where the strokes touch, so it does not count in cases like