I have some Boya Chinese textbooks and want to buy more to have a complete set to work through. Searching for the books, I find very strange naming conventions. Here are some examples:

  • Elementary 1
  • Elementary Start
  • Intermediate I
  • Quasai-Intermediate 1
  • Intermediate Spurt I
  • Advanced Hover III
  • Pre-Intermediate Speed-Up
  • Reading and Writing

If I want to buy and work through a complete set, including any corresponding workbooks, what is the order?


I haven’t heard of this series before, but looking at information from the publisher (Peking University Press) and various booksellers I can see the following:

博雅汉语 = Boya Chinese (1st edition, published around 2004–2009)

  • 初级起步篇I = Elementary starter I
  • 初级起步篇II = Elementary starter II
  • 准中级加速篇I = Pre-intermediate speed up I
  • 准中级加速篇II = Pre-intermediate speed up II
  • 中级冲刺篇I = Intermediate spurt I
  • 中级冲刺篇II = Intermediate spurt II
  • 高级飞翔篇I = Advanced hover I
  • 高级飞翔篇II = Advanced hover II
  • 高级飞翔篇III = Advanced hover III

博雅汉语 = Boya Chinese (2nd edition, published around 2012–2016)

  • 初级起步篇I = Elementary I
  • 初级起步篇II = Elementary II
  • 准中级加速篇I = Quasi-intermediate I
  • 准中级加速篇II = Quasi-intermediate II
  • 中级冲刺篇I = Intermediate I
  • 中级冲刺篇II = Intermediate II
  • 高级飞翔篇I = Advanced I
  • 高级飞翔篇II = Advanced II

In addition to these main textbooks there are various extras, like the Guide books aimed mainly at teachers and Reading and writing giving extra resources.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.